Sunday, December 29, 2013

Book Review: A Beautiful Wedding

Title A Beautiful Wedding

Series Beautiful, book 2.5

Author Jaime McGuire

Release Date December 10, 2013

You know that Abby Abernathy unexpectedly became Mrs. Maddox. But what do you really know?

Why did Abby pop the question?
What secrets were shared before the ceremony?
Where did they spend their wedding night?
Who else knew about it . . . and didn’t tell?

Everything about Abby and Travis’s elopement was top-secret . . . until now. Fans of Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster will get all of their questions answered in this whirlwind tale of the wedding day (and night!)—and as with all good stories, this one will definitely have been worth the wait.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18528454-a-beautiful-wedding
Review

You know, sometimes there's come a point in the life of a series where you want to sit the author down and say to them, "Listen, it's been swell. It's getting old, though. Just stop. Just stop it and let the series die a peaceful death." (I'm looking at you Pretty Little Liars.) Unfortunately, that time has come much sooner for the Beautiful series by Jamie McGuire.

Beautiful Disaster was a fine book. It certainly could have been (and *should* have been) a stand-alone book. We didn't need the same story from Travis. Be honest, there wasn't enough of a change between Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster. Yeah, I get it... It was the same story so most everything should be the same. Okay, but no. It was the *exact* same story with *very little* changed, repacked, and sold as a separate book. There was no difference between Abby's point-of-view (BD) and Travis' point-of-view (WD) and the last time I checked, they were two separate people no matter how in love they actually are.

All that nonsense aside, we couldn't possibly let Abby and Travis rest in the land of ended series, could we? Nope! Now we've got A Beautiful Wedding which practically changes the story that we were led to believe... within the first few pages! Super Fans of the series certainly won't like this. I'll be honest, I didn't too much care for it, either. Though I'm not invested in the series whatsoever it still ruined the story that I previously read.

I didn't care for this book at all. I didn't really care for Walking Disaster, either, though. I guess I have a horrible tendency to read books that I know I'm not going to enjoy. This should certainly be a lesson for me, but I doubt it will be.

Rating

2 out of 5 stars

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting!