Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Book Review: Dollbaby

Title Dollbaby

Author Laura Lane McNeal

Release Date July 3, 2014

When Ibby Bell’s father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her father’s urn for good measure. Fannie’s New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been—and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum—is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannie’s black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.

For Fannie’s own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibby’s arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbaby’s hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.

For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.

By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18693929-dollbaby
Review

There's so many things that I absolutely love about Dollbaby. It's set in the South. Being from the South, I always love reading about the history and culture in fiction books.  The Southern-isms (like "bless your heart" is more insulting than complimentary) are wonderfully done in this book. It's about learning family secrets. Southern families (and I'm sure this isn't just a Southern thing, but that's where my experience lies), it seems, are full of crazy secrets. Whether it's discovering your own family secrets or someone else's, it's always interesting. It's a coming of age story. Taking place over eight years, we see growth mostly in Ibby, but there's change in the entire cast of characters. Speaking of which, it's got such delightful, realistic characters. I loved them all.

The only thing that I was confused about during my time reading this book was why it was named as such. Surely a book about Ibby shouldn't be named Dollbaby. By the end of the book, though, it makes perfect sense. And I absolutely loved it.

While I enjoyed the entire book, the last few chapters are really what made me fall in love with it. Dollbaby is a great story. It's touching and just all around wonderful. I highly recommend this one.

Rating

5 out of 5 stars

* This book was received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. *

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting!