Thursday, February 19, 2015

Book Review: Death Wish

Title Death Wish

Series Ceruleans, book 1

Author Megan Tayte

Release Date February 7, 2015


The Ceruleans: mere mortals infused with power over life and death. Five books; one question: If the might of the heavens were in your hands, would you be sinner or saint?

Seventeen-year-old Scarlett Blake is haunted by death. Her estranged sister has made the ultimate dramatic exit. Running away from school, joining a surfing fraternity, partying hard: that sounds like Sienna. But suicide? It makes no sense.

Following in her sister’s footsteps, Scarlett comes to the isolated cove of Twycombe, Devon, with grand plans to uncover the truth. Alone. But she hasn’t reckoned on meeting two boys who are determined to help her. Luke: the blue-eyed surfer who’ll see the real Scarlett, who’ll challenge her, who’ll save her. And Jude: the elusive drifter with a knack for turning up whenever Scarlett’s in need.

As Scarlett’s quest for the truth unravels, so too does her grip on reality as she’s always known it. Because there’s something strange going on in this little cove. A dead magpie circles the skies. A dead deer watches from the undergrowth. Hands glow with light. Warmth. Power.

What transpires is a summer of discovery. Of what it means to conquer fear. To fall in love. To choose life. To choose death.

To believe the impossible.

Death Wish was a very enjoyable paranormal book. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this book.

I felt like it took me a few chapters to really get into the story. I was a bit worried that I might not fall into that easy reading where I can't get enough and don't want to put the book down. I was worried for nothing, though. Once I found my groove, I was hooked and then proceeded to devour the rest of the book with ease.

Death Wish is a great start to a series. It gives you just enough to get you hooked, but also leaves you with enough questions that you want the next book as soon as possible.


4.5 out of 5 stars

* This book was received from the author in exchange for an honest review. *

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting!

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.