Thursday, September 4, 2014

Book Review: Game

Title Game

Series Jasper Dent, book 2

Author Barry Lyga

Release Date April 16, 2013

Billy grinned. “Oh, New York,” he whispered. “We’re gonna have so much fun.”

I Hunt Killers introduced the world to Jazz, the son of history’s most infamous serial killer, Billy Dent.

In an effort to prove murder didn’t run in the family, Jazz teamed with the police in the small town of Lobo’s Nod to solve a deadly case. And now, when a determined New York City detective comes knocking on Jazz’s door asking for help, he can’t say no. The Hat-Dog Killer has the Big Apple–and its police force–running scared. So Jazz and his girlfriend, Connie, hop on a plane to the big city and get swept up in a killer’s murderous game.

Thankfully, unlike numerous second books in a series, Game holds its own against the first book in the series. It starts off strong and keeps going. The story is solid and moves steadily along. It is just as good and possibly even better than I Hunt Killers. The biggest difference between the two books is how they end. I Hunt Killers ended in a place where that could have been the end. Game, however, ends on a rather large cliffhanger. It's one of those cliffhangers that demands you read the next book ASAP! Unfortunately, the next book isn't due out until September 9. (Hey! I don't have to wait too long.) It's certainly a book that I'll be reading and soon.

As I said with the previous book, those that enjoy the mind of a serial killer or those that enjoy the thriller/crime genres will likely enjoy this series. In my opinion, it's only getting better.


4 out of 5 stars

* This book was received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. *

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting!

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.